Backing Up a Moodle Course

At the end of every semester, the courses on Moodle from the previous semester will be removed to make room for the upcoming semester's courses. It is recommended that you make a backup of your course so that you have a copy of it should you need to access it in the future. There are two different types of backups:

Full Backup

This kind of backup will save everything that has been posted to your course, including the student contributions made that semester. During the backup process, you are able to pick and choose what items you want included in the backup or just save the entire thing.

Partial Backup

This kind of backup will only save what the teacher of the course has contributed to the course. During the backup process, you are also able to pick and choose what items you want included and which to leave behind. This is a popular option used by teachers who are planning on teaching their course again. It saves time and work going forward so when it is time to teach that course again, the teacher can simply restore the backup file and have their course ready to run with some simple modifications to due dates etc.

Please note that if you make a backup of your course, you can only access the content on it if you restore the file to a Moodle course. The backup is in a specific format that only Moodle understands.

See below for a video that will explain how to perform both of these types of backups.

 

Details

Article ID: 83185
Created
Tue 7/16/19 3:18 PM
Modified
Wed 7/24/19 1:58 PM